Stashbase

Projects

Group environments for an application or service and control who can access them

A project groups the environments for one application or service, and is the unit you grant people, teams, and service accounts access to. Every project must have a unique name and can optionally have a description.

Dashboard view of projects

Access control

Each user or team can be granted with an access to a project. There are three types of project access: viewer, editor and admin.

Viewer has read-only access to project, environments and secrets. Editor can read and edit environment's secrets. Admin has full access to the selected project, its environments and secrets (can delete and create environments or delete the project).

Deleting a project

When you delete a project in Stashbase, the deletion behavior depends on whether the project contains any environments or resources.

Soft deletion

Projects are soft-deleted (and can be restored) if:

  • The project contains at least one environment with resources (e.g., secret changes, webhooks, integrations, or environment accounts).
  • The project has any deleted environments that still contain resources, which could be restored later.

This ensures no critical data is lost accidentally and provides a safety net for recovery. Those projects can be restored within 30 days from the dashboard.

Hard (permanent) deletion

Projects are permanently deleted (hard delete) if:

  • They have no environments, or only environments that are empty (no secrets or other resources).
  • The project may still have users or service accounts — but if there are no stored resources, it will be deleted fully.

This keeps your workspace clean by fully removing empty or unused projects. Users and service accounts do not prevent deletion. If a project is otherwise empty, it will be deleted regardless of member access.

On this page